Yannick Nézet-Seguin:
Epic Wagner


Christine Goerke  I  Soprano

Brandon Jovanovich  I  Tenor

Franz-Josef Selig  I  Bass

Orchestre Métropolitain

Yannick Nézet-Séguin  I  Conductor

With his grandiose tetralogy, “The Ring of the Nibelung“, Wagner revolutionized opera’s musical language and theatrical scope. The cycle stands as an achievement of gigantic proportions rooted in the foundational mythology of the Nordic peoples, heirs to Ancient Greece, yet modern in its allegory of society, power, and love.

From the first act of “Die Walküre“, the second of the four operas, Yannick Nézet-Séguin unleashes the living force with the help of three of today’s greatest Wagnerian singers: soprano Christine Goerke, tenor Brandon Jovanovich, bass Franz-Josef Selig & the Orchestre Métropolitain.

An epic concert program — opening with the Suite from Debussy’s lone opera “Pelléas et Mélisande” (arranged by Claudio Abbado) — captured live from the renowned Festival de Lanaudière in Canada on August 2022.


> Claude Debussy (1862-1918) – Pelléas et Mélisande (orchestral Suite)

> Richard Wagner (1813-1883) – Die Walküre, Act 1 (concert version)


■  Running time:  112′

■  Production year: 2022

■  Location: Amphithéâtre Fernand-Lindsay, Joliette – Festival de Lanaudière (Québec, Canada)

■  Artists: Christine Goerke, soprano (Sieglinde); Brandon Jovanovich, tenor (Siegmund); Franz-Josef Selig, bass (Hunding); Orchestre Métropolitain; Yannick Nézet-Séguin, conductor

■  DirectorBenoît Guérin

■  Format: 4K

■  Audio signal: Stereo

■  Aspect ratio: 16:9

■  Cat. no.: C-108-P