Special Events 


Matt Herskowitz &
Paul Merkelo :

Matt Herskowitz  I  Piano

Paul Merkelo  I  Trumpet

© ProdCan 2022

Following in the footsteps of the great American composer George Gershwin, the spectacular soloist Paul Merkelo (Principal trumpet with the Orchestre symphonique de Montréal) and the dazzling Montreal-based pianist and arranger Matt Herskowitz have imagined a novel concert program exploring Gershwin’s music and inspirations. A captivating journey that artfully blends musical substance, cross-inspiration jamming, and sheer virtuosity, creating a musical world of its own in which the spirit of Gershwin passes by.  

Gershwin showed us a model for humanity based on tolerance and inclusion through diversity. In this program, we aim to highlight these diversities through a new lens by arranging a trumpet and piano exploration of his music and that of his peers in a vocabulary of classical music for the common man inspired by his sentiment, virtuosity, rhythm and improvisation.” – Paul Merkelo


Original arrangements and improvisations on the following pieces:

  • Gershwin, An American in Paris
  • Gershwin, Cuban Overture
  • Gershwin Medley on Schoenberg’s Verklärte Nacht
  • My Soul’s Been Anchored in the Lord (Tribute to Florence Price)
  • D’Après Petrushka
  • Ravel, Concerto en sol, II. Adagio assai
  • Gershwin, Concerto in F, II. Andante


■  Running time: 54:51′

■  Production year: 2022

■  Location: Locoshop Angus, Montreal (Canada)

■  Artists: Paul Merkelo (trumpet), Matt Herskowitz (piano)

■  Director: Benoît Guérin

■  Format: 4K

 Audio Signal: Stereo

■  Aspect ratio: 16:9

■  Cat. no.: R-108 P