Alexandre Tharaud
Les Violons du Roy


Alexandre Tharaud  I  Piano

Mathieu Lussier  I  Conductor

Les Violons du Roy Chamber Orchestra

Internationally acclaimed pianist Alexandre Tharaud performs the world premiere of Kuleshov – a dazzling commissioned piano concerto infused with jazzy syncopations and extended harmonies written by the Argentine composer Oscar Strasnoy.

As a prelude to this novel creation, the Canadian chamber ensemble Les Violons du Roy under guest conductor Matthieu Lussier presents Ibert’s irresistible Divertissement (“witty and mischievous”, Le Devoir). The first part is followed by a magistral interpretation of Wagner’s Siefried Idyll and the famous Emperor Waltz by Johann Strauss II, arranged by the great Arnold Schoenberg.

“A superb ensemble” (The New York Times)


> Jacques Ibert – Divertissement – 16′

> Oscar Strasnoy – Kuleshov, for Piano and Orchestra, World Premiere – 23′

> Richard Wagner – Siegfried Idyll –  22′

> Johann Strauss II – Emperor Waltz, op. 437 (arr. A. Schoenberg) – 19′


■  Run time: 80′

■  Year: 2017

■  Date: June 2, 2017

■  Venue: Bourgie Hall, Montreal Museum of Fine Arts

■  Format: Full HD

■  Sound: Stereo

■  Cat. no.: C-102P